David P. Miraldi
On September 3, 2012 a new law will go into effect that bans texting while driving a vehicle. The law makes it illegal for anyone to drive while texting and for minors, bans the use of all hand-held electronic devices while driving. All drivers will be allowed to use driver-activated navigation devices.
The law also affects adults differently than minors in another important way. Adults can only be charged with violation of the statute if they have been stopped for some other traffic offense. Adults who break this law will face a fine of up to $150. Minors can be charged with this violation even if they have not committed another traffic offense. Minors face penalties of a $150 fine and a 60-day license suspension for a first offense and a $300 fine and a one-year suspension for subsequent citations.
1 Comments to "Ohio Enacts Law That Bans Texting While Driving"
Post a comment
Post a Comment to "Ohio Enacts Law That Bans Texting While Driving"To reply to this message, enter your reply in the box labeled "Message", hit "Post Message."