Ohio is Raising Minimum Liability Auto Insurance Requirements
Currently, Ohio drivers must carry auto insurance liability coverage of $12,500 injury per person, up to $25,000 per accident, and up to $7,500 property damage liability per accident. Effective March of this year these limits will increase to $25,000 injury per person, up to $50,000 per accident, and up to $25,000 property damage liability per accident. These new requirements have doubled the injury liability and more than tripled the property damage liability coverage.
The new law takes effect in March with a nine month grace period. The reason for the grace period is to allow people to comply with their first policy renenwal after March. December 22, 2013 is the cut off date for the higher minimums.
An intersting fact is that only the state of Florida has a lower injury liability limit than Ohio. Also, California, Pennsylvania, New Jersey and Massachusetts all have lower property damage limits.
Premiums for this type of coverage are expected to increase by 25 percent or more effecting the 5 percent of Ohio driver's who carry this type of coverage. Although this is bad news for those who carry minimum coverage it could mean lower auto premiums for everyone else.